Never off duty

It’s half term in Lancashire this week so I took the end of the week off work and we’ve come to Scarborough to eat ice cream and dig in the sand. The weather has taken a sudden turn towards summer and South Bay was filling up nicely when we got there this afternoon, although it wasn’t full up to the August Bank Holiday ‘can’t see the beach for towels’ level. We dug a very large hole in the sand, which turned out to be just the right size for burying me in. I stood and watched some games of beach cricket getting very serious indeed (Come on, you’re costing me runs! backing up guys!) while the backfilling went on around me. Despite the knotted hanky and rolled up trouser legs I was obviously keeping at least half an eye on what was in the sand. (I have been in trouble for this before, especially when I am supposed to be gardening and I keep stopping to see if we have found any nice pottery).

IMG_0114

In amongst the mussel shells was this very waterworn bit of worked flint. I think it is part of a largish flake, although the edges have got a bit rolled with it being in the sea. I imagine it has washed out of the cliffs to the north of here. There are a lot of prehistoric flint scatters on the North York Moors and for about 40 miles north of Scarborough the moors end in very unstable sandstone cliffs, big chunks of which wash away every winter.

Rick

2 comments
  1. Julia said:

    ‘ have been in trouble for this before, especially when I am supposed to be gardening and I keep stopping to see if we have found any nice pottery’ – As I recall the argument was because you found half a cream pot and started digging a pit to see if you could find the rest of it 🙂

Leave a Reply

